Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors Photos & Biographies

Richard Last
Non-Executive Chairman
Richard, a Fellow of The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, joined the Company in 2007 as a Non-Executive Director and was appointed Chairman of the Company in 2012. He has over 20 years’ senior experience in information technology having worked at Board level for a number of publicly quoted and private companies in the technology sector. Richard is currently the non-executive Chairman of the following public companies: ITE Group plc and The British Smaller Companies VCT2 Plc (both listed on the LSE main market), Gamma Communications plc, Arcontech Group plc and Tribal Group Plc (all AIM-quoted) and is a non-executive director of USA-based Corero Network Security plc (AIM-quoted).

Malcolm Streatfield
Chief Executive Officer
Malcolm Streatfield was appointed Chief Executive of Lighthouse Group plc in January 2003. He has been involved in financial services since 1976 and has served on a number of industry bodies, including the council of APFA (Association of Professional Financial Advisers), the Customer Impact Panel of the ABI (Association of British Insurers) and the Financial Services Practitioner Panel.

Peter Smith
Group Finance Director and Company Secretary

Peter is a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and was a corporate finance and assurance partner with KPMG. He has considerable experience of the UK financial services sector, both from an assurance and corporate advisory capacity and more latterly as an executive director. Peter’s responsibilities include Finance, Treasury, Legal and Company Secretarial matters, as well as strategic initiatives.

Ken Paterson
Group Compliance and Risk Director

Ken was appointed to the Board as Group Compliance and Risk Director on 12 February 2014. He has more than 25 years’ experience in senior compliance, risk and regulatory roles within the UK financials services sector, encompassing regulatory bodies, life companies and advisory businesses. Ken joined Lighthouse in August 2012 as Group Compliance Director for the Group’s regulated businesses and has contributed fully as part of the management team since that date.

Alex Scott-Barrett
Non-Executive Director

Alex Scott-Barrett is a chartered accountant. From 1988 to 2003 he held various offices in the corporate finance and asset management divisions of Cazenove. He is the former chairman of Suffolk Life plc. He chairs Lighthouse Group’s Audit and Nominations Committees and serves as a non-executive representative on the Group’s Luceo Asset Management Investment Committee.

Michelle Cracknell
Non Executive Director

Michelle Cracknell is a qualified actuary with 29 years’ experience in financial services. She is currently Chief Executive of the Pensions Advisory Service, which provides independent and impartial pensions guidance to the general public, and a non-executive director and chairperson of the investment committee at Omnilife Insurance Company. Michelle chairs the Group’s Risk & Regulatory Committee.

Ann Roughead
Non Executive Director

Ann is a qualified solicitor and has more than 30 years’ experience of the retail financial services market. She is a non-executive director of Columbia Threadneedle Investments Limited and Columbia Threadneedle Investment Services Limited and is a committee member of the Integrity and Ethics Committee of the Chartered Institute of Securities and Investments. She previously held senior positions with LV= Asset Management, Citigroup and JP Morgan Fleming. She chairs Lighthouse Group’s Remuneration Committee.